Tag: liquor business

What You Need To Know About The Texas Liquor Law

January 3, 2018


Comments Off on What You Need To Know About The Texas Liquor Law

The Texas alcohol laws are applicable to residents as well as its visitors said an attorney from a Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission Law Firm. Texas is the 2nd biggest state in regard to its geographic area. It comes as no surprise that the Texas liquor law varies widely when it comes to the vast expanse of this state. More than 50 counties in the state are “dry”. This means they prohibit the sale of alcohol.

In some of the other counties beer is allowed to be sold in the grocery stores but wine is prohibited. In other areas beer is Image result for sell alcohol on a Sunday before noonprohibited for sale in a store but is sold in establishments such as a restaurant. In one of the town’s, alcohol is sold legally in the part of this town in 1 county. But it is prohibited for sale in the part that falls in the next county. This is what has made it challenging to understand the Texas drinking laws.

Alcohol Violations

In the state of Texas, it is regarded as illegal that alcohol is sold to anyone under the age of 21. For the licensed businesses, wine and beer may be sold from 7.00 am until midnight from Monday to Friday. On Saturday’s beer and wine may be sold from 7.00 am to 1.00 and on a Sunday, they may only sell from noon up until midnight. However, it is only the liquor stores who are allowed to sell the distilled spirits.

Restaurants are allowed to sell alcohol on a Sunday before noon as long as it has been paired with a meal. However, the Texas liquor law that resides over all the counties states that alcohol that is sold in any area on a Sunday may not exceed 17% ABV (alcohol by volume). In addition, no venue is allowed to sell alcohol in any form on Thanksgiving, Christmas Day or New Year’s Day.

Buying Alcohol

It is illegal for any person who is under the age of 21 to attempt to or to buy alcohol. Using false identification, drinking or possessing alcohol are all regarded as illegal. Penalties for these offenses includes a suspension of the person’s driver’s license for a period of 30 days for the 1st offense. If the person is caught for a 2nd offense their license will be suspended for a period of 60 days and when a 3rd offense occurs the suspension is increased to 180 days.

Roberto Pena

Artist, designer, photographer and entrepreneur. I'm very optimistic, a little awkward, protective, and outgoing guy.

Suggested Articles